Quick News Update

So, I haven’t posted any news in a while, but I want you all to know that I’m still hard at work.

The online novel New Testament “.hack” has been recently completed on CC2’s website. I have collected it all along with the artwork and I will start translating it later this year. I would like to place priority on Bullet, Guilty Dragon and New World first, however. I will eventually return to .hack//4Koma, but given that it is solely for comedic purposes, it’s not a top priority.

As for .hack//Link, I am currently translating the e-mails. This is my main focus. There are approx. 3100 lines left to translate in the e-mail file. Once this file is done I will release the next patch. Then all that will remain is the non-story elements which will be much easier to translate.

I can’t give an exact time-frame, but I expect that translating the remaining ~3100 lines will take about 3 months. I translate about 40-60 lines a day. This doesn’t seem like much, but it usually takes an hour or two to get this much done. It’s hard to find more time than that most days.

I have a new job where I work 40 hours a week, but the schedule is flexible so I can translate at more varied times, which helps. I no longer work weekends (as opposed to my old job where I worked EVERY weekend), so this is when I’ll get longer bursts of translation completed.

Anyway, just wanted to let everyone know the project is ongoing. Stay tuned!

9 thoughts on “Quick News Update

  1. Thanks man. Don’t exaggerate it, this sounds like a lot of work.
    I love your output though. Have you already read the new novel? How was it?

    Like

    1. I haven’t read the whole novel. I’ve only read the first few chapters, but I like the extra info we get on the real world events that we didn’t see in the games or that weren’t shown from Akira Hayami’s (BlackRose) perspective in Another Birth. I’m hoping we learn more about the real Kite.

      Like

  2. d(^_^) thanks for the update and for taking the time to translate~

    Did you see they were releasing the chapters in the .hack//Fanbooks?

    Like

    1. Strange, I thought New World shut down months ago. Nonetheless, I have a full Let’s Play of New World on my YouTube channel and I have the entire story backed up on two hard drives, so I can translate it at my leisure. So, no worries.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.