.hack//Link translation is back on!

It took a many months of research and testing, but I have finally figured out how to correctly modify the game!

A new patch is now being developed to complete the remaining files that were left untouched in the previous patches, and to correct the issues that would crash the game.

There is currently no timeframe on release as there are (tens of?) thousands more lines to translate and much of the work is being done manually since the current patch program cannot handle these files. I’m not the best programmer, so I’m not sure if I’ll be making a new patcher. The work involves replacing the Japanese text and then doing tedious math calculations to adjust various Hexadecimal values in each file.

For example, I was recently able to patch the PC character name file which houses some of the characters names. I also completed a couple of APC message files which house short phrases characters say to you as you adventure, and I partially completed the staff end credits.

There’s still so much to do, but in any case, I’m so glad to announce this news and I’m optimistic that the game can now be completed. I’ll provide more updates as this progress.

I am, as always, still looking for proficient Japanese to English translators!

One thought on “.hack//Link translation is back on!

  1. This is awesome to hear! I’ve played through the old patch (a few of them actually) and look forward to playing this on too.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.