.hack//Link hits 75%!

Hello all!

Today .hack has reached the three-quarter mark. There’s still much to be done, but I hope to have patch o.3 out in September.

I also updated the download page slightly to clarify some instructions for installation. It seems a lot people are still unaware that we know about the freezing issue. There is currently no fix. I have contacted several programmers and one has agreed to help, but life is keeping us all busy. A fix may be a long time off. But the game will eventually be finished.

If you find an issue or need help in installing the game, please read the entire page HERE first.

In the meantime, I’m still looking for any help with translating. A lot of people offer to be quality checkers, and I appreciate it, but what I really need are people who have a good grasp on Japanese. You don’t have to be the best reader since there are many translation tools, many of which I use, such as online dictionaries and kanji search tools if I get stuck.

So, if you can help, and can translate even one file every day or two, it would help speed up the process by several weeks, if not months.

Thanks everyone for the support!

16 thoughts on “.hack//Link hits 75%!

  1. hey i think i could help with your translation if you need it, but do i need some programming knowledge or some specific software to open your file or will you provided it in a doc file so i can straight to translate it? because i dont have any programming background and im not English speaker native so maybe there will be one or two grammatically error. But i do have a good grasp in Japanese and also right now i have a much free time so i could focus on translating. If you think i could help you and still interested in my help, please reply to me…. thanks, i just wanna help with your project and also fill my free time.

    Like

    1. You’ll need a certain program, but it’s free and I can tell you how to get it. No programming knowledge is required. If you send me a message from the contact page, I can send you the necessary information to your e-mail.

      Like

  2. I really appreciate your efforts in translating this game! I downloaded the previous version and only played a few minutes to check it, so this is the first time I’m hearing about this freezing issue. I don’t know the specifics, but I really hope it gets fixed some time. I’m really looking forward to the next patch.

    Like

    1. Thanks. The freezing issue has been a problem for us since the early patches. I think I know what the problem is, but I don’t have the knowledge to fix it. I’ve contacted people who do have the ability to fix it, but they are busy, so it may take some time. Stay tuned.

      Like

  3. Just passing by to say thank you for translating this game.
    I never finished it because I can’t read japanese but now I’m glad someone still cares about translating it.

    Like

  4. Thank you so much for your continued efforts on this! I admire your dedication, drive and passion, and wish you the best of luck as you continue! I’m unable to help, but I’ll cheer you on from the sidelines as hard as I can!

    Like

  5. I found an older version of the patch on a different site, and once I got into the game I saw that a lot of it had been left without translations. At first I thought it was just because it was yet another lazy translation that someone had half assed and thrown out to just make the game barely playable, but then once I went back I found a link that lead me here.
    I’m glad that isn’t the case, and that you have still been working on it. Thank you for your work, and I’ll be waiting for the final release.

    Like

Leave a Reply

